Dal

I recently went to India and took a Cooking Class in Pushkar. She gave me recipes for Dal, Vegetable Rice and Aloo Paratha. If you find yourself in the area (which you should if you go to India and you should go to India) you should take the class–a lot of ‘should’s in there, but it’s true. You can ask her to teach you different things but I asked for her favorites.

I worry I won’t be able to make any of these for a long time, since I probably won’t be able to find most of the spices in Korea. Hopefully in America I can! Or if I’m really desperate I’ll order from India (maybe even the girl who did my class–her mom makes spices to sell and they haven’t started shipping yet but I bet it could be lucrative! People who go could order more and they are the highest rated on TripAdvisor so people who just read about the class could want to order.

This post will be a bit different from my original ones as I have some step-by-step photos (blurry because it was dark in the kitchen) and no photo of the finished product (I ate it too fast).

Ingredients:

  • water
  • 100 g mixed lentils, washed twice
  • 1/4 tsp turmeric powder
  • salt
  • 1 red onion, chopped
  • 1/2 fresh green chili (jalapeno), chopped
  • 1 cube of ginger, chopped
  • 10 garlic cloves, chopped
  • 3 TBSP oil (any kind other than olive)
  • 1/2 tsp cumin seed
  • 1/2 tsp red chili powder
  • 2 tomatoes, chopped (can be large)
  • 1 tsp finu leaf
  • lemon and coriander for garnish

Directions:

1) Boil the lentils with turmeric and salt.

2) Mix the garlic, ginger, chili, onion and mash into a paste

3) Put the oil in a large pan and heat.

India 126

4) Add cumin seed until it turns light golden.

 

 

India 1275) Add the garlic/ginger paste.

 

 

India 130

6) Add the chili powder and 1/4 cup of the tomatoes.

7) Add the rest of the tomatoes and water (the more water you add the thinner it will be, keep in mind the next step!).

8) Add the lentils in with their water.

9) Add finu leaf and let boil for 2-3 minutes.

10) Garnish with lemon juice and coriander leaf.

3 thoughts on “Dal

  1. Pingback: Vegetable Rice | Oven-lovin'

  2. Pingback: Aloo Paratha | Oven-lovin'

  3. Pingback: Cooking Class in Pushkar | World Traveler: Asian Edition

Leave a Reply

